Pettis municipal election has highest turnout in 10 years

By Nicole Cooke - [email protected]

By Nicole Cooke

[email protected]

Election results for 19 precincts in Pettis County came back in 53 minutes Tuesday night for the Municipal Election.

There were 3,984 ballots cast Tuesday, which is 15.44 percent of registered voters in Pettis County. Pettis County Clerk Nick La Strada had predicted a voter turnout of 14 to 18 percent. While it’s still a low turnout compared to the 25,799 registered voters in the county, it is one of the highest municipal turnouts in Pettis County in the last 10 years.

“We were very steady in the City of Sedalia with the contested races that we had,” La Strada said around 8 p.m. Tuesday after all precincts had reported. “It was a good turnout for a municipal election. We would’ve loved to see turnouts like we just had in March (for the Presidential Preference Primary), but that being said … it was a really good, successful election.”

La Strada said things went smoothly technology-wise Tuesday with the polling pads that debuted during the August 2015 Special Election.

“The poll workers put in a lot of hard hours, and without the poll workers there’s no way we can conduct these elections and I give all the credit to them for sure,” La Strada said. “They’re great for our county and the election process.”

Smithton R-VI Board of Education (two seats)

Jason Brown 277 (36.21 percent)

Becky Williams 285 (37.25 percent)

Stacey Luttrell 125 (16.34 percent)

Bill Grose 78 (10.2 percent)

Smithton R-VI School District Proposition KIDS

Yes 299 (70.69 percent)

No 124 (29.31 percent)

Pettis County R-V School District Board of Education (two seats)

Aaron McMains 163 (33.61 percent)

Matt R. Powell 178 (36.7 percent)

Janice Klenke 142 (29.28 percent)

Pettis County Fire District Board of Directors (one seat)

Harold Ream 542 (55.14 percent)

Tim Padgett 439 (44.66 percent)

Pettis County Ambulance District vehicle sales tax

Yes 2,760 (74.13 percent)

No 963 (25.87 percent)

La Monte Mayor

Ronnie McNeive 93 (65.03 percent)

Write-in Votes (incumbent Paul Wilbern was a certified write-in candidate) 50 (34.97 percent)

La Monte Alderman I (one seat)

Shawn R. Bedell 24 (31.58 percent)

Paul Daves Sr. 20 (26.32 percent)

Fred Armstrong 32 (42.11 percent)

La Monte Alderman II

David P. Wessell 63

Sedalia Municipal Judge

Deborah Gillespie Mitchell 1,583

Smithton West Alderman (one seat)

John Hollomon 35 (85.37 percent)

Jeremy Roberts 6 (14.63 percent)

Smithton vehicle sales tax

Yes 22 (31.88 percent)

No 47 (68.12 percent)

Village of Hughesville Board of Trustees (two seats)

Frank Lindsey 25 (19.84 percent)

Jennifer Raines 32 (25.4 percent)

Dan Wuebker 37 (29.37 percent)

Lisa Mueller 32 (25.4 percent)

Hughesville Tax Levy

Yes 45 (73.77 percent)

No 16 (26.23 percent)

Percentages may not add up to 100 percent, as not all write-in votes are not listed.

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-530-0138 or @NicoleRCooke.

Sedalia Democrat

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-530-0138 or @NicoleRCooke.

comments powered by Disqus