School board races heating up for April election

Only one week left for candidate filing

By Nicole Cooke - [email protected]

As the deadline gets closer for municipal candidate filing, the races for several school boards are heating up.

At eight candidates, the Pettis County R-V (Hughesville) Board of Education has the longest list of any entity. Four incumbents — Vice President Austin Lea, Secretary Beth Douglas and members Amy Kreisel and Wendell Zimmerman — are up for re-election this year, and so far Lea, Douglas and Kreisel have all filed. Five others have also filed — Janeene Williams, Crystal Narron, Katie Palmer, Nikkie Hill and Jimmie March.

The Green Ridge Board of Education race has also attracted some newcomers. Bob Stone and Staci Harrison recently filed, and Kenneth Ollison, who ran in 2016, filed for candidacy a few weeks ago. President Barry White and member Roy Martin have filed for re-election to the Board of Education. Kenneth Secretary Sam Dove’s term is also expiring in 2017.

While the list of candidates for the La Monte R-IV Board of Education isn’t quite as long, it also has one new name. Leah Mahin, one of three incumbents, has filed for the Board of Education. Also up for re-election is Treasurer Barak Knoernschild and member Bobbi Patrick. Newcomer Katie Hall has also filed for candidacy for the board.

Candidate filing began Dec. 13 for the April 4 election in Pettis County. Filing ends Tuesday, Jan. 17, with final ballot certification taking place Jan. 24, according to Pettis County Clerk Nick La Strada. The last day to register to vote in the April 4 election is March 8.

With just one week left, the following candidates have filed, as of Monday afternoon:

• Sedalia City Council

Ward 1 Councilwoman Jo Lynn Turley, Ward 2 Councilman Russell Driskell, Ward 3 Councilman Bob Cross and Ward 4 Councilwoman Mary Merritt all filed for candidacy. So far Merritt is the only incumbent with an opponent, as Ward 4 resident Megan Page has also filed as a council candidate.

• Sedalia Board of Education

The three incumbents — Vice President Michael Stees, Treasurer Kenneth Coffelt and member Scott Gardner — all filed the day candidate filing began. No one else has filed.

• Pettis County Ambulance District

Incumbents Greg Nehring, District 2, and Mike Layton, District 5, are the only candidates so far for PCAD’s Board of Directors.

• Village of Hughesville

No one has filed for any of the three open seats. Brad Walbourn, Stephen Frazier, who is in his first term, and Lisa Mueller, who is finishing the term of Sherria McDonald, all have terms ending in 2017.

• City of Smithton

With two open seats, no one has filed yet. East Ward Alderman Tom Glenn and West Ward Alderwoman Sharon Oehrke are both up for re-election.

• Smithton R-VI School District

So far only incumbent Sara Moore has filed for the Board of Education election. Moore, John Frazee and Eddie Bybee are all up for re-election to the Smithton School Board.

City of Green Ridge

Incumbent Daniel Piscopo has filed for re-election. Fellow incumbent Jeffrey R. Nilson also has a term ending this year.

City of La Monte

Wanda Bishop and Terry Drum, both incumbents, have filed for re-election to the city council.

Pettis County R-XII (Dresden) School District

Vice President Ben Perez and Treasurer Jeri Uptegrove have both filed for re-election to the Board of Education. Member Hazel Hudson also has a three-year term ending in 2017.

Phone calls to the City of Houstonia and Village of Hughesville were not returned by press time.
Only one week left for candidate filing

By Nicole Cooke

[email protected]

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-530-0138 or on Twitter @NicoleRCooke.

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-530-0138 or on Twitter @NicoleRCooke.

comments powered by Disqus