Newcomer files for Sedalia City Council

By Nicole Cooke - [email protected]

By Nicole Cooke

[email protected]

Only a few people took advantage of the first day of filing Tuesday for the April municipal election, but there is already a newcomer in the race for Sedalia City Council.

Each of the four wards have one member up for re-election this spring: Ward 1 Jim Cunningham, Ward 2 Bonita Nash, Ward 3 Don Meier and Ward 4 Tollie Rowe. As of Tuesday afternoon, Nash, Meier and Rowe have filed to run again for their council seats, according to City Clerk Arlene Silvey. Cunningham has yet to file or announce he is running again, but if he does, he will have some competition — Chuck Leftwich has filed to run for the Ward 1 seat.

Two members are up for re-election on the Sedalia School District 200 Board of Education, Secretary David Wolf and Diana Nichols. So far only the two incumbents have filed for the election.

The State Fair Community College Board of Trustees also has two open seats, one of which will not have an incumbent running in April, as Gary Noland previously told the Democrat he will not seek re-election.

“I think it’s time for some new blood on the board,” Noland told the Democrat after the Oct. 27 board meeting. “After 12 years on the board and 44 consecutive years at the college, I have decided not to run for re-election. I am still and will always be very passionate about the college.”

Incumbent Randall Eaton, of Benton County, is the only candidate to file for the board as of Tuesday afternoon.

Pettis County Clerk Nick La Strada said no one filed Tuesday for the Pettis County Ambulance District Board of Directors. Two board members, Dave Clippert, subdistrict 1, and Les Harrell, subdistrict 4, are both up for re-election.

The Smithton R-VI School District Board of Education has two members up for re-election, Jason Brown and Becky Williams, and both incumbents filed Tuesday, according to Linda Barnes, superintendent secretary.

The Democrat was not able to reach the Pettis County R-XII School District, La Monte R-IV School District, City of La Monte, City of Houstonia, Village of Hughesville, City of Green Ridge or the City of Smithton by press time to obtain filing information.

Filing continues through Jan. 19 for the April 5 municipal election in Pettis County.

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-826-1000 ext. 1482 or @NicoleRCooke.

Nicole Cooke can be reached at 660-826-1000 ext. 1482 or @NicoleRCooke.

comments powered by Disqus