Fitzgibbon Hospital announces new board members

Jacquelyn Eidson

Scott B. Hartwig

Jan Stapleton

Jacquelyn Eidson Eidson

Scott B. Hartwig B. Hartwig

Jan Stapleton Stapleton

MARSHALL — The Fitzgibbon Hospital Board of Trustees elected three new members during its August Board meeting: Jacquelyn Eidson, Scott B. Hartwig and Jan Stapleton. Fitzgibbon Hospital’s Board of Trustees is comprised of 12 members, primarily from the local community, who ultimately govern the mission and vision of the hospital, an independent, not-for-profit organization.

“Jan, Jacque and Scott, without question, have the qualities and personal characteristics that we desire in our board members,” President and CEO of Fitzgibbon Hospital Darin L. Haug, D.O. said. “All three of these individuals share a tremendous amount of support and commitment to Fitzgibbon Hospital and our community. In addition, we have evaluated the importance of knowledge, skills, expertise, and diversity, and these individuals, collectively, have much to offer our board moving forward.”

“Darin (Haug) has suggested three qualified individuals who will bring a good balance of healthcare experience and business acumen to the board. I think they have the combination of skills we were looking for, and I welcome them to the board,” Fred Utlaut, president of the Board of Trustees, said.

In addition to Utlaut, the three new members of the board join William L. Summers, Donald Vogelsmeier, Gayle Carter, Rook Evans, Randy M. Morrow, James Sowash, M.D., Jack Uhrig, M.D., and Lorenzo Romney, D.O., president of the Fitzgibbon Hospital Medical Staff.

Jacquelyn Eidson

Eidson serves as an adjunct instructor of business at Missouri Valley College in Marshall, where she teaches courses in accounting, human resources management and small business management. She also works as the marketing and business development director for Saline County Family Dental. Eidson has created, owned and managed several small businesses in the area.

She also brings to the board an expertise in the area of financial auditing. She has experience as an external auditor for Baird, Kurtz & Dobson in Kansas City, where she performed on-site audits for a variety of businesses including health care facilities, educational institutions, manufacturers, not-for-profit entities and banks. In addition, she worked for a global pharmaceutical services company where she partnered with pediatric offices and hospitals in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Eidson has served on the Fitzgibbon Hospital Fling Committee, and is a member of the Fitzgibbon Hospital Auxiliary, the Missouri Valley College Women’s Association and Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Scott B. Hartwig

Hartwig, a Marshall native, is president/CEO and co-owner of Red Cross Pharmacy Inc. In 1995, Hartwig accepted a sales position with Geneva Pharmaceuticals, calling on Missouri and Kansas retail pharmacies, drug wholesalers, hospitals and institutional pharmacies.

After three years of the corporate life, in 1998, he joined Red Cross Pharmacy Inc., which consists of 15 retail pharmacies, three long-term care pharmacies and two durable medical equipment companies.

Hartwig also is the managing member of two real estate holding companies that primarily invest in commercial real estate and farms. Hartwig serves on the board of directors for PBA Health, the Marshall-Saline Development Corporation, the Marshall Public Education Foundation, the Georgia Brown Blosser Home for Crippled Children and the Administration Commission for St. Peter Catholic Church.

Jan Stapleton, R.N.

Stapleton was employed at Fitzgibbon Hospital as a staff nurse in 1998 and had several positions within the nurse management team, dealing with issues such as coordination of care and utilization management. She left the organization in 2012 to focus more on her family.

Stapleton is now self-employed as a certified life coach for Real Steps Life Coaching in Marshall. She also is the farm manager for Stapleton Family Farms.

She volunteers her time with numerous community groups including the Baby Grace ministry at First United Methodist Church, the Fitzgibbon Hospital Foundation Council, the Fitzgibbon Hospital Ethics Committee, and the P.E.O. – Women’s Philanthropic Organization where she has been a member since 1982.

Release courtesy of Fitzgibbon Hospital

Sedalia Democrat

Release courtesy of Fitzgibbon Hospital

comments powered by Disqus