SFCC announces distinguished student writer awards

SFCC honored the top 10 writing students for 2014-2015 at a luncheon April 30 on the Sedalia campus. The top three students also were recognized. Award winners were, front row from left, Kevin Zbornak, Allen Taylor, Faith Scheidemantle, Allison Smith, and Carrie Gleason. Back row, from left, Zack Demeter, Alice Rivers, Kirstie Hunter, and Katelyn Bartels. Not pictured is Josie Dinsdale, who was honored but unable to attend.

State Fair Community College has announced the Lisa Shoemaker Distinguished Student Writer awards for 2014-2015.

The top three winners are Alice Rivers, first place; Kevin Zbornak, second place; and Allen Taylor, third place. All three are from Sedalia. They received plaques at a luncheon April 30 on the Sedalia campus.

Other top 10 finalists included Katelyn Bartels, Josie Dinsdale, Kirstie Hunter, Faith Scheidemantle, and Allison Smith, Camdenton; Zack Demeter, Whiteman Air Force Base; and Carrie Gleason, Warrensburg.

English Composition I and II and Literature instructors nominated student papers from the hundreds submitted in their fall 2014 and spring 2015 sections. Tutors from the college’s Academic Success Center selected the top 10 essays. Four SFCC faculty and staff independently reviewed and ranked the essays.

This year the name of the writing awards was permanently changed to honor Lisa Shoemaker, English instructor and literature coordinator, who will retire June 1 after teaching nearly 36 years at SFCC.

Anne Homan is division chair of the English Composition and Literature department.

Sedalia Democrat
comments powered by Disqus